The Story of French

The Story of French

The Story of French

I stared at this book on the French language, The Story of French for months in various bookstores. The book is only $15 and quite the bargain for such an in-depth look at this language. However, I found it boring.

I skimmed the last hundred pages. I wanted to learn the history until I found it included a timeline when each word entered a French dictionary. I don’t care what The New York Times and the Kirkus Starred Review says. I say this makes a great cheap textbook and that’s it. I will try the other book, Sixty Million Frenchmen Can’t Be Wrong, but I can’t give this book a positive recommendation.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

