Wealthy St. Station–Grand Rapids, Michigan

Wealthy St. Station

Wealthy St. Station

Wealthy St. Station is an modest deli & grill in design. I live a block away and I have walked/driven by many times not realizing they offer a variety of fare–American, Mexican, and Polish.

I was with a friend whose family originally came from Poland many generations ago. So with little encouragement I looked past the American and Mexican menu.

For under $10 you can get a filling dinner of kielbasa, sauerkraut, pierogi, bread, potato salad, golabki. The kielbasa and sauerkraut were good together as the kielbasa did not have a strong overpowering flavor. The sauerkraut was just pungent enough. Then I moved onto the golabki which is basically a cabbage roll stuffed with ground meat and rice covered in a tomato sauce. The golabki was my favorite and I will definitely go back for just the golabki. You don’t see a cabbage roll on too many menus these days and I’ve had to settle in the past for what’s available in my grocer’s freezer section.

I finished off my meal with pierogi which are savory dumplings in this case filled with potato. I ate it with the sour cream and it was a delicious end to a wonderful meal. I was given 3 pierogi but found myself full after the first 2 1/2 so I skipped the bread and small side of potato salad.

The casual atmosphere makes it a wonderful place to sit down and eat a good meal with a friend but they also offer takeout. If you’ve never had Polish food, this place will give you a glimpse into the country’s cuisine. Order the Polish dinner if you want a good spread, otherwise, all these foods are available as separate entrees. For the price alone, I’d go again. I can’t wait till my next trip to fill my stomach with yummy golabki.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

