Crazy Horse Steakhouse and Saloon–Holland, Michigan

A friend said to me on Twitter using Brightkite, “This place has mashed sweet potatoes.” I had to visit Crazy Horse Steakhouse and Saloon. I walked in and my jaw dropped.

The interior was entirely decorated to be representative of the days of saloons. I stared in amazement at the wagon wheel transformed into light fixture. There are signed dollar bills tacked to the wooden trimmed walls. This isn’t just a destination for tourists. I went in the middle of the week for lunch and the parking lot was packed.

I ordered the Sirloin Steak Combo, steak & chicken with choice of potato. I, of course, chose mashed sweet potatoes topped with pecans. After all, is there a better potato?

The steak was medium with no juices spilling all over the plate because the meat rested. I have come to appreciate chefs who ensure meat is well-rested before serving. It’s easy to rush food when there’s a hungry mob waiting outside. After eating 6-oz of sirloin, I had 6-oz unseasoned chicken. It wasn’t anything to write home about but it wasn’t tough which is a problem at even the fanciest chicken-serving restaurants in town.

These mashed sweet potatoes were like candied sweet potatoes only mashed and without marshmallows. Sweet may be in this bright orange tuber’s name but it is not sublimely delicious until a spoonful of sugar is added.

From the hostess to the server, everyone was exceptionally friendly and patient. When I told the hostess, some more people were joining us later, she did not ask for the whole table to arrive to be seated. She took down the person’s name and ours so the group could be united. We all ordered quickly except my one friend who has dietary restrictions. She had to be patient to take his order; he did a lot of hemming and hawing and finally made his own concoction. I even sent him the menu ahead of time.

Located on 2027 North Park Drive in Holland, Michigan this is a festive place for a large group to have a good ol’ hoe down. Just call ahead at 616-395-8393. The saloon opens at 11AM on Monday through Saturday.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

