What Color is Your Parachute?

What Color is Your Parachute?

What Color is Your Parachute?

I don’t know what color my parachute is. But I do know that this book is a must-read for anyone who is about hit the job market for the first time or anyone who is looking for a career change. Now, if you know what you want to be “when you grow up,” please instruct us all.

This book written by Dick Bolles is a classic on careers reprinted every year with updates. I read the 2008 edition; it’s clearly marked on the spine of every book. The subtitle is A Practical Manual for Job-Hunters and Career-Changers. Part one is about the job hunt–things you wish you learned in school but were never taught.

Bolles states that success in finding a job is in who you know and not what your resum√© says. He said the internet is not the way to go but every job I have found since I graduated from college was found through Craig’s List. So much for the expert Bolles.

I love this book and the supplemental workbook. However, I think Bolles is still not ahead of the tech curve. I have found plenty of jobs online and spent more time networking that way than attending events. In fact, events have grown out of online communities.

The most valuable aspect of this book is the thorough analysis and suggestions for the job hunt. I will provide further review once I finish the workbook. This book is best carried along with you on the journey for each perfect job to make up a long, fulfilling career.

There is a website and a workbook that helps. http://www.jobhuntersbible.com/ by Dick Bolles.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

